Dear John Travis…

If you have a sibling, get down on your knees and thank God. Yesterday and turned 23 and my birthday of course is my favorite, but one of my favorite things about my birthday is that for two days, my brother and I are the same age. I remember when we were little, when my birthday rolled around, I would stand up next to him to see if I had grown to his same height because I thought that birthdays meant added height.
John Spann is a force to be reckoned with. He can argue with a fish that says water is his best option for survival. Sometimes his arguments make me want to scream to the top of my lungs.. Because he honestly won’t back down. I admire that about him, because he honestly can never be backed into a corner.. He will always find a way out.
Even though sometimes we don’t see eye to eye, John has been one of the strongest support systems in my life. There have been multiple occasions where I have called him and burst into tears and he’s always there to be a voice of reason or just someone who can simply be pissed off with me when I’m mad.
Growing up, I was always taught that since he was the oldest, he is the example. I have now realized that age is simply just a number and we have to be examples for each other and lead each other.
September 17th marks the last day where we are equal in age. I think about what we have been through as children to adulthood. John has always been the encourager. I can remember the very first day of school.. I was FREAKING OUT… But he took my hand and said it was going to be alright. I remember when I was learning how to read, I would read to him and he would just listen. John has always encouraged me to be fearless.
Today we are both 23. 23 years have gone by and we have been through so much from the I hate you fights, to the “will you go beat his ass” for me situations. My brother has always been there. We have always been there for each other.
Soooo John, I know you are probably internet shopping trying to figure out what bow tie, fossil watch, polo outfit, or dress shirt or all the above that mom and I will be getting you for your birthday for tomorrow..
Reflect on all that you have been through, what we have been through, and look at where you are now.
I’m proud of what you have achieved so far, but we must remember never settle and know that I won’t let you settle just like you won’t let me settle. There is a bright future ahead of us and as you turn 24 tomorrow (you’re so old) remember I love you, brudder! And I will always have your back.
Happy Early Birthday, brother.. I wouldn’t be who I am today without you.

IMG_5142.JPG

IMG_1246-0.JPG

IMG_5141.JPG

IMG_7717.JPG

Leave a Reply

